Recommended Reads
Now Reading
GraveTells 2011 Book, Series, & Author of the Year Awards!

GraveTells 2011 Book, Series, & Author of the Year Awards!

by davincikittieJanuary 2, 2012

At the end of every month, we celebrate the most outstanding books we reviewed.  We just finished our first yearly Readers Choice poll, and it was a huge success!  To finish off the year, we’re announcing our final awards of the year, the official GraveTells 2011 Book Awards.  The following winners were chosen for their excellence in the genres of paranormal romance and urban fantasy in 2011.

GraveTells 2011 Books of the Year

If you’ve been following our posts for a while, then Laura Kaye’s North of Need is no stranger to you. It’s been our December Book of the Month, one of our Top 5 Absolutely Must Read books of 2011, was nominated for eight Readers Choice Awards, and Laura won the Reader’s Choice BreakOut Author of 2011. I can’t sum up why North of Need is one of our two Books of the Year better than this, from the Top 5 Absolutely Must Read Books in 2011 post…

North of Need is the first book in Laura Kaye’s new Hearts of the Anemoi series and when it comes to paranormal romance, this is just about as perfect as it gets. What do you look for in a book? Love, tragedy, conflict, pushing boundaries, overcoming fears, sacrifice, selflessness, adventure… you name it, North of Need has it. Plus, it’s the perfect book for this rapidly-departing holiday season (you will never again look the same way at a snowman!), so don’t delay. Go get it RIGHT NOW!! And have a box of tissues ready. You’re gonna need ‘em. *grin*

Read our review here!

To date, we have reviewed 2 of the 4 books in the Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa, and both (The Iron King and The Iron Knight) have received our rare, perfect score, Gold Heart Award. The Iron Knight was our Book of the Month for October and was also listed as one of our picks for Top 5 2011 Absolutely Must Read books, and Julie & The Iron Fey were nominated for 8 Readers Choice Awards.

The Iron Knight is a story of love lost and found, hope and hopelessness, brotherhood and regrets. It is a book about choices and consequences, sacrifice and acceptance, and ultimately, about understanding… really, truly understanding… what being human is all about. The Iron Knight is a beautiful, shining, heart-breaking story about life, and as poignant as it is, as conflicted as it made me feel, I want to live there in the Deep Wylds of the Nevernever on an endless adventure with Ash and Puck and the whole gang.

Read our review here!


GraveTells 2011 Series of the Year

Harlequin’s Royal House of Shadows is a unique collection of 4 four books, each written by a different author and each featuring the struggle of one of the royal children of Elden to beat the sinister countdown and save their homeland from complete annihilation.  What makes this series such a standout is how much much paranormal territory it covers.  From vampires, to werewoves, to wizards, to the keeper of the literal gates of hell, these heros have more than met their match in the variety of heroines (spunky, proper, determined, self-sufficient – they cover all the bases too!) they adventure with.  The Royal House of Shadows series features a list of powerhouse authors, most notably Nalini Singh and Gena Showalter, but don’t miss the knock-out stories by Jill Monroe & Jessica Andersen either!  This entire series was published in a three month span during the fall, and every book in it received at least a rating of 4.0/5 (“Recommended”) from GraveTells in 2011.  Check out the review links below to see what we thought about each book…


Honorable Mentions in this category are:

  • The Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa, whose conclusion story (The Iron Knight) has already been recognized as one of our 2011 Books of the Year, is a fantastical whirlwind of a fantasy series you’re not likely to get out of your head anytime soon.  An enchanting mix of passion & ferocity, duty & responsibility, childlike wonder & creativity, and adventures straight out of our dreams & nightmares, The Iron Fey is one of the most unforgettable series you will ever read.
  • The Demons of Infernum by Rosalie Lario, a brand new series from Entangled Publishing featuring a quartet of half-demon brothers on a mission to save the world from their homicidal maniac of a father whose terrifying delusions of grandeur threaten the entire human race.  With 3 of the 4 (5 if you count the brand new short story, Heart of the Incubus) books having already been released last fall, we get to enjoy these witty, sexy, kick-ass brothers without having to wait years between installments.



GraveTells 2011 Author of the Year

An already formidable force in the world of paranormal romance, author Nalini Singh added a new stellar new book to each of her own ongoing PNR/UF series in 2011, as well as contributing the emotional conclusion to the Royal House of Shadows series from Harlequin.  Ms. Singh is one of those rare authors that can boast the explosive and endearing combination of mad technical writing skills, the intrinsic understanding of the scope and peculiarities of human emotion, the writing experience to know when to play her aces, and the guts to write what needs to be written even when it isn’t always pretty or warm & fuzzy.  With 14 books under her belt in the two PNR series Guild Hunter and Psy-Changeling alone, not counting the plethora of short stories that accompany them, Ms. Singh is a “must read” author.  Click the links below to read our reviews of her books released in 2011…



GraveTells 2011 Debut Author of the Year

Unless you’re a stranger to GraveTells (and if you are, welcome!), you’ve heard the name Rosalie Lario a few times.  Rosalie is a newly published author with Entangled Publishing who released 3 full-length novels and 2 novellas across her two paranormal romance series last year.  Her Demons of Infernum series has already gotten a nod as an Honorable Mention in the 2011 Series of the Year category above, and between Rosalie and her books, series, and characters, scored 13 nominations in our 2011 Readers Choice Awards.  Rosalie’s writing is clever, creative, witty, and addicting. Her heroes will make you swoon and her heroines will inspire you.  If you *still* need more encouragement to check out this promising new author, check out our reviews of two of her Demons of Infernum books below…


Congratulations to all our recognized authors, books, and series! May 2012 be as spectacular a year for paranormal romance as 2011!

What's your reaction?
Love it, have it!
Sounds fun
Thinkin' 'bout it
Bleh, no.
About The Author
Sue "DaVinciKittie" Brown-Moore is a veteran romance blogger and reviewer and the primary voice for Sue has been shamelessly pimping book boyfriends since 2010 and has won several blogging awards with GraveTells. Sue is also a freelance Developmental Editor passionate about helping authors bring out the best in their stories. She loves reading romance, fantasy, and sci-fi and edits any genre she reads for pleasure. You can follow Sue's editing blog, with tips and tricks for authors, at
  • January 3, 2012 at 8:59 am

    Fantastic. Great choices!!!

  • Sophia Rose
    January 3, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    Just seeing what your choices are for the annual awards makes me so excited to read these books. I have seen all your reviews and interviews on these authors. They are all on my TBR pile or wish list.

    What an exciting year of books we had! Looking forward to 2012!

Leave a Response